ijks

February 23, 2010

and I would walk 2 miles in an airport for these…

Filed under: Uncategorized — irenejk @ 9:55 pm

I am in America!! YES!!  It’s so great here I can’t even begin to describe the happiness.  Not that I don’t love Paris, because I do.  But buying things in dollars and seeing my family and driving through Florida thunderstorms and eating endless Korean food is so good.

So, I bought a bunch of stuff to bring home – cookies and chocolate, paté, gummies, etc.  But the one thing i REALLY wanted to bring home was some macaroons from Ladurée.  Now, when you come to Paris, you MUST have macarons from Ladurée… Pierre Hermé is pretty amazing too, so either of these are acceptable.  There is some hooplah about Ladurée getting to commercialized and lowering the quality of their ingredients, blah blah blah.  This is probably totally true, but I still can’t say that these aren’t possibly the best little 2 euro/piece of pure culinary genius I’ve ever put into my mouth.  ANYWAY, I knew there was a Ladurée stand at the airport.  I had 2 hours to spare before taking off, so I decided to go look for it.  It couldn’t be THAT far.  After twenty minutes of walking I finally spotted one of their recognizable flowery bags… BEHIND THE SECURITY CHECKS.  Nooo! That’s just mean.  So I asked and found out there was another one ONE more terminal away and by this time I was sweating and tearing off my scarf and jacket and my shoulders were killing from my backpack, but I had to keep going.  I could feel it.

This story would be better if I finally got to the stand and it was closed, but that’s not at all how it ends.  I got there, bought my macaroons, walked a mile back to my terminal and stood in line for security checks (45 minutes!).

There was some subsequent drama though that followed.  At my layover in Toronto, after having settled in a chair and cozied up to a book at my gate, I suddenly realized these macaroons were no longer in my possession. I pretty much freaked out (I mean, I HAD walked 2 miles to get those. There was no way I was just going to LET that happen) and after retracing all my steps from the previous hour, I remembered that I had left them… in the freaking bathroom stall. Gross.  They were still there, and I took them.  Don’t think about what could have happened in there.  I didn’t. And I won’t.

Flavors shown: fleur d’oranger (orange blossom), caramel au sel de guérande, citron (my favorite!), and rose pamplemousse (rose and grapefruit).

Yay!

1 Comment »

  1. Ummmm, they melt in your mouth! My favorite macaroons were caramel… flavored ones. Thanks for your 2 mile walk and rescuing them from the bathroom! Now I can tell I had macaroons from Ladurée.

    Comment by mom — February 25, 2010 @ 6:03 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

